Eight new member nations welcomed into Virtus Family

Virtus Sport welcomed new members to its family this weekend as the 2023 General Assembly ratified the membership of National Member Organisations in from Fiji, Kazakhstan, Maldives, Solomon Islands, Equatorial Guinea, Republic of Guinea, Gabon, and Jamaica. The World Dodgeball Federation was also welcomed into the International Federation category.

It brings Virtus’ total membership to 101 organisations – more than at any time in our history.

Dina Temirgaliyeva, President of Virtus Kazakhstan – Sports Federation for Persons with Intellectual Disabilities expressed her excitement about joining Virtus:

“We are delighted to join the Virtus family. Our team has put in tremendous effort over the past year, and we are deeply grateful for this opportunity and the trust from the Virtus membership.”

She emphasized the significance of this membership for Kazakhstan and the athletes with intellectual impairments, as it opens up new prospects for elite competition-

“This membership is very promising and will open up new possibilities for our athletes to participate in the Virtus Global Games, Asian Para Games, and Paralympic Games. We have a long journey ahead and have already developed a comprehensive plan for the development of sports for individuals with intellectual impairments in Kazakhstan for the period 2023-2030.”

Virtus President Marc Truffaut welcomed the new members and highlighted Virtus’ commitment to increasing its global reach:

“Virtus has been focused on increasing membership and this time we have welcomed eight new members from Oceania, Asia, and the African region. We are thrilled to work with these new members and, with their support, will be nurturing new talents into elite sports for athletes with an intellectual impairment. We hope to see more nations competing in our next Asia Oceania Games in 2026 and at the Virtus Global Games 2027.”

Meanwhile the Assembly also ratified the appointment of new Board members with Yossi Romano (ISR) and Aaron Benjamin (IND) elected as Members at Large.