Two New World Record And One Championship Record Set At Kobe 2024

The World Para Athletics Championship in Kobe, Japan brought numerous celebratory moments for the Virtus family. Athletes with intellectual impairment once again commanded attention in various T20 and F20 events.

A thrilling race unfolded in the T20 Women’s 400m event featuring Deepthi Jeevanji from India and Aysel Onder from Turkey. Both athletes showcased their top form, but Deepthi claimed the championship title by a razor-thin margin, also setting a new world record with an impressive time of 55.07 seconds. Deepthi made history as the first athlete with intellectual impairment to secure a Gold medal for India.

Deepthi Jeevanji from India on the left and winners of T20 Women’s 400m on the right. Photo Credit: Kobe 2024

In the same event, Aysel Onder secured the silver medal with a commendable time of 55.19 sec, closely tailing Jeevanji in an exhilarating contest. Lizanshela Angulo from Ecuador clinched the bronze medal with a time of 56.68 sec, intensifying the event with a remarkable performance.

Sabrina Fortune of Great Britain dominated the Women’s F20 shot put event, not only clinching the gold but also setting a new world record with an astounding throw of 14.73m, showcasing her exceptional talent and dominance in the sport. Poleth Mendes of Ecuador secured the silver medal with a commendable throw of 13.90m, while Aleksandra Zaitseva (NPA) claimed the bronze with a distance of 13.01m, contributing to the competitive spirit of the event.

Poleth Mendes (ECU), Sabrina Fortune (GBR) and Aleksandra Zaitseva (NPA). Winner of F20 Women’s Shot-Put. Photo Credit: Kobe 2024

Brazil showcased prowess in the Women’s F20 Long Jump, with Zuleide Cassiano Silva securing the gold medal with a phenomenal leap of 5.80m. Debora Oliveira De Lima clinched the silver, adding to the nation’s glory with her impressive jump of 5.54m. Fatma Damla Altin earned the bronze for Turkey, soaring to a distance of 5.43m.

Winner of F20 Men’s Shot Put (left) and F20 Women’s Long Jump (right). Photo Credit: Kobe 2024

Muhammad Ziyad Zolkefli from Malaysia emerged victorious in the F20 Men’s shot put event, winning the gold medal with an impressive throw of 17.43 meters. Shane Luka Meissonnier (FRA) claimed the silver medal, while Jordi Patricio Congo Villalba from Ecuador secured the bronze.

Winners of T20 Women’s 1500m, Ilona Biacsi (HUN), Barbara Bieganowska-Zajac (POL) and Antonia Keyla Da Silva Barros (BRA). Photo Credit: Kobe 2024

Poland’s Golden Basia once again shines and adds another title to her tally. Multiple-time Virtus Global Games Champion and Four-time Paralympic Champion, Barbara Bieganowska-Zajac wins gold at T20 1500m with a new championship record of 4:27.36 sec. Antonia Keyla Da Silva Barros (BRA) secured silver while Ilona Biacsi (HUN) settled for bronze in the same event.

Poland’s Barbara Bieganowska-Zajac won gold at T20 1500m with a new championship record of 4:27.36 sec. Antonia Keyla Da Silva Barros (BRA) secured silver while Ilona Biacsi (HUN) settled for bronze in the same event.

Winners of T20 Men’s 1500m event, Sandro Baessa (POR), Michael Brannigan (USA) and Yuji Togawa (JPN). Photo Credit: Kobe 2024

Paralympic title-holder Michael Brannigan of the USA clinched the top spot, clocking in at an impressive 3:51.71 sec, establishing a fresh championship record in the T20 Men’s 1500m competition. Sandro Baessa from Portugal secured the second position, finishing the race in 3:55.84 sec, earning the silver medal. Meanwhile, Yuji Togawa from Japan secured the third spot, completing the race in 3:55.94 sec to claim the bronze medal.
Brazil’s rising star Samuel Oliveira (BRA) once again snatched the gold medal in the T20 Men’s 400m race from his fellow teammates by microseconds. Samuel clocked an impressive time of 47.73 sec and defeated Ecuador’s John Sebastian Obando Asprilla (47.84 sec). Muhammad Ammar Amman Nor Azim (MAS) closely followed them winning the bronze medal with a time of 48.16 sec.

Winners from Men’s T20 400m (left) and T20 Long Jump (left). Photo Credit: Kobe 2024

Two-time Paralympic Champion and multiple-time World Champion, Abdul Latif Romly from Malaysia stayed undefeated and secured another World title in T20 Long Jump. Romly covered a distance of 7.30m and defeated Ecuador’s Roberto Carlos Chala Espinoza. Jhon Sebastian Obando Asprilla secured the last spot on the podium with 6.84m.
Full results can be accessed from the Kobe 2024 website.
Most of these star athletes will be competing at the upcoming Paralympic Games, Paris 2024. While some will be making their debut appearance, many will be defending their world titles. Virtus wishes luck to all the athletes for their upcoming competition.