2011 Conference and General Assembly closes

The 2011 Inas Conference and General Assembly closed in Canberra, Australia on Sunday following 2 days of debate, discussion and planning.

Dr Bob Price was elected to serve a further term as President, whilst Karon Nicol (Secretary General), Michel Chopinaud (Treasurer) and Professor Jan Burns (Head of Eligibility) were each returned to serve in the new Executive.

All presentations and papers are now available on the Inas website and a summary of key decisions will be sent to Inas members shortly.

As well as representing Inas 25th anniversary, the weekend also marked the retirement of Marie Little OAM who has supported Inas since its inception, most recently as President of the Asia/South Pacific region. Paying tribute, Dr Bob Price thanked Marie for all her efforts over the years. Meanwhile, Inas Honorary President Mr Bernard Atha, sent a personal message of appreciation for Marie’s efforts to develop sport for athletes with an intellectual disability over so many years.

The bidding process for the 2013 Conference and General Assembly will begin shortly and member nations will be notified when the process commences later this year.