A group of athletes running
Getty Images

The Master List is a list of athletes who can compete at World Intellectual Impairment Sport competitions. These are athletes who have completed the athlete eligibility check and can be considered to compete.

Depending on the sport these athletes can then go on to be classified for the Paralympic Games. However this is a separate process carried out by World Para Athletics, World Para Swimming or the International Table Tennis Federation.

How does an athlete get on the Master List?

An athlete who wants to compete at a high level must first contact their national Member organisation. They will then take them through the application and evidence process. This is then sent to the World Intellectual Impairment Sport Eligibility Committee.

There are two levels of eligibility – national and international. The Member organisation will help athletes with which level they should be assessed for.

More information about the eligibility process can be found in the eligibility and classification section. 

Master List (II1)

Trial additional eligibility groups (II2, II3)

World Intellectual Impairment Sport recently launched a trial of two additional eligibility groups in competitions. These are for athletes with more significant intellectual impairment (II2) and for athletes with autism (II3).

More information can be found on the eligibility and classification section.

Master Lists for II2 and II3: